Trondheim Voices & TrondheimSolistene - A World of Daughters

Great work signed former resident artist at Moldejazz, Jon Balke.

Molde Cathedral 690,- fees incl.

A World of Daughters was initially a collaborative project between Trondheim Voices, Jon Balke and the Munich Chamber Orchestra. Based on the poem by the same name, by Yusef Komunyakaa, Balke has composed a concert for strings, voices and electronics that illuminates the poem from multiple angles.

The text is presented in its entirety as a kind of harmonised recitative. It's also used as a phonetics and «sound-bank» for the role of the singers in the piece. The poem is written in a semi-abstract tradition, using images to describe the role of women as a creative force throughout human history.

Komunyakaa, with his African American background, is a distinctive musical and rhythmic poet. He writes in a pulsating language that's very inspiring for composers to work with. This piece is written as a framework for the dialogue between the string ensemble and the singers. It gives creative room for Trondheim Voices and their unique abilities as improvisers and sound painters.

In the first part of the concert, we also include a «remixed» version of the previous collaboration between Balke and Trondheim Voices, On Anodyne, which premiered at Moldejazz in 2011. On Anodyne was also based on a poem by Yusef Komunyakaa, first written for percussion and vocals. This work is now presented in a new version for strings, voices and electronics and in this way provides a rich presentation of Komunyakaa's musical poetry.

Jon Balke – composer and electronics

Trondheim Voices:
Sissel Vera Pettersen, artistic leader, Siri Gjære, Tone Åse
Live Maria Roggen, Kari Eskild Havenstrøm, Anita Kaasbøll, Torunn Sævik, Heidi Skjerve

Violins: Viktor Stenhjem, Anna Vestad, Stefan Penjin, Eira Foss, Ivan Penjin, Ola Lindseth, Åse Våg Aaknes, Anna Sonstad, Alex Robson
Viola: Anne Våg Aaknes, Bergmund Waal Skaslien, Kirsten Næss
Cello: Marit Aspås, Karoline Brevik, Live Smidt
Double bass: Rolf Hoff Baltzersen

Christian Eggen – conductor
Asle Karstad – sound design

The concert is produced in collaboration with Midtnorsk Jazzsenter and Olavsfestdagene.

Moldejazz follows all necessary guidelines and rules at this event, and kindly ask all guests to take responsibility as well.
Follow the artist on social media: