Bagatelles Marathon Part I

AiR John Zorn

On Wednesday 20 July, the stage is set for what many will probably see as the main concerts during John Zorn's residency; “The Bagatelles Marathon part I and part II”

Teatret Vårt (PLASSEN) 495,- fees incl.
Billettpakke AiR John Zorn
Teatret Vårt (PLASSEN) 2335,- fees incl.
Fellesbillett Bagatelles Marathon Part I & II
Teatret Vårt (PLASSEN) 740,- fees incl.

This is a very special and spectacular, two-part project with a total of 26 of the world's leading impro musicians on stage in Teatret Vårt at 14:00 and 20:00.

It's an event in Moldejazz history when John Zorn and 29 other of the world's leading improvising musicians do the Bagatelles Marathon part I and part II.

The music is based on compositions Zorn wrote in the spring of 2015, collected under the title Bagatelles. Through two concerts on Wednesday during the festival week, twelve ensembles perform more than fifty of the compositions. The ensembles include core members of Zorn's inner circle, as well as adventurously gifted younger musicians from jazz, rock, and classical music.

Bagatelles Marathon is a fascinating microcosm of Zorn's musical universe. Several hours of music divided into two performances, played by some of the most exciting musicians in New York's live music environment, constitute a monumental Moldejazz event. Among the participating musicians we find key innovators such as Craig Taborn and Kris Davis, guitarists Julian Lage, Marc Ribot and Mary Halvorson, plus many, many more. For those who have not had time to follow so closely, this will be an opportunity to discover personalities that characterize the music scene in several genres, both today and this year ahead.

MASADA: Julian Lage - guitar, Dave Douglas - trumpet, Greg Cohen - bass, Joey Baron - drums
MARY HALVORSON QUARTET: Mary Halvorson - guitar, Miles Okazaki - guitar, Drew Gress - bass, Tomas Fujiwara - drums
BEN GOLDBERG QUARTET: Ben Goldberg - clarinet, Craig Taborn - piano, Jorge Roeder - bass, Thomas Morgan - bass
TRIGGER: Will Greene - guitar, Simon Hanes - bass, Aaron Edgcomb - drums

Follow the artist on social media:

Use of cookies / Cookies policy

Use of cookies / Cookies policy

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience and improve your use of the website. We also measure and analyze usage patterns and engagement for a better understanding of how our services are used.

Acceptance applies to all pages with x in the address. Read more about the use of cookies in our privacy statement. privacy statement

Essential cookies

Essential cookies ensure basic functions such as page navigation and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function optimally without these essential cookies, and they are strictly necessary to provide an online service.

Enabling cookies helps you fill out forms effectively on our website. For example, cookies help prevent the same user from submitting the same form multiple times. The information is deleted from the browse after 90 days.

The cookies assess and help us understand how visitors interact with our website. The statistics and information gathered are anonymised.

We use marketing cookies to display content and ads that are relevant and engaging for our visitors.