Obara International Quartet

Moldejazz has for the past two years participated in the international talent-development programme Take 5: Europe. Obara International Quartet is a direct result of this.

Polish saxophone-player Maciej Obara met Ole Marten Vaagan (Bass) and Gard Nilssen (Drums) in England during the winter of 2012, and invited them to Poland to play some concerts where pianist Dominik Wania was included, and just like that a new band was established; Obara International Quartet. The band plays modern acoustic jazz inspired by the great Polish composer and pianist Krzystof Komeda.

Maicej Obara - Saxophone
Dominik Wania - Piano
Ole Morten Vaagan - Bass
Gard Nilsen - Drums